Northeast Ohio Trade & Economic Consortium

Upcoming Events



P.O. Box 5190
Kent, OH 44242
Phone: 330-672-4080
or 800-793-0912
International: 001-330-672-4080

Ronald W. DeBarr

President & CEO
Accredited Zones Specialist (AZS)

Ronald (Ron) W. DeBarr was named President and CEO of the Northeast Ohio Trade & Economic Consortium (NEOTEC) in July 2005, after serving NEOTEC as Executive Director since May 2001. In this capacity, he has helped foster regionalism through coordinated economic development efforts for NEOTEC’s member counties, which has expanded from six to eight counties under his leadership.

Mr. DeBarr has facilitated the dramatic growth in recent years of the Foreign-Trade Zone #181 program in Northeast Ohio, for which NEOTEC serves as grantee. In 2012, he entered into an agreement with the Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority to become Zone Administrator of Foreign-Trade Zone #40.  Both zones combined create one of the largest FTZ programs in the United States.  He was also instrumental in establishing a forum for logistics professionals in the region through the formation and administration of the 250-member Northeast Ohio Logistics Network.

Mr. DeBarr is past president of the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals – Cleveland Roundtable. He also served on the Business Advisory Board at Walsh University, where he received his B.A. degree in Business Management.

Current professional affiliations include the National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones (NAFTZ), where he recently served as Vice Chairman to the Board of Directors and has received certification as an Accredited Zones Specialist. He was appointed to the Northern Ohio District Export Council by U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke, and to the board of the Northeast Ohio International Business Network. He was also inducted into the Phi Beta Delta Society of International Scholars.